

STORMWATER QUEENSLAND 2020 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

The 2020 Annual General Meeting of Stormwater Queensland was held on Thursday 22 October 2020 via Zoom

PRESENT

Peter Worth (*in the Chair*), David Simpson, Charles Coathup, Brad Dalrymple, Bill Johnson, Cara Megchelen, Clint Mead, Courtney Henderson, Dylan Cain, Himanthi Mendis, Leon Attwood, Paul Dubowski, Randall Hall, Sarah Kirsch, Troy Mansigner, Tilake Arachchige, Daniel Niven, Katie Fletcher, Mark Gibson, Rick Dennis

Lorelei Broadbent (minute-taker)

The Chair opened the meeting at 12.35pm and noted that the necessary quorum of at least the number of members elected or appointed at the last AGM, plus one, in person or by proxy (ie 15), was present in person or by proxy, to allow the meeting to proceed.

1. APOLOGIES

Michael Wicks, Richard Yearsley

2. **PROXIES**

The following valid proxies were received:

Richard Yearsley	in favour of	David Simpson
Michael Wicks	in favour of	Brad Dalrymple

3. **CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING**

The minutes of the Stormwater Queensland 2019 Annual General Meeting, held on 3 October 2019, having been circulated, were taken as read and confirmed.

Moved B Dalrymple, seconded C Coathup. Carried unanimously.

4. **PRESIDENT'S REPORT**

The President's reflection/report on the activities of the Association for 2020, as circulated, was taken as read. The President read his report.

That the Stormwater Queensland President's Report for 2020 be received and accepted. Moved B Dalrymple, seconded D Simpson. Carried unanimously.

5. **PRESENTATION OF 2019-2020 FINANCIAL ACCOUNTS**

The Treasurer advised that SQ's auditor is based in Melbourne. As a result of the second wave of COVID19 and the recent restrictions placed on businesses in Victoria, he has been unable to complete the audit. We have been advised that his practice will not be operational until early November. Under these circumstances it was suggested that the year-end 30 June reports be presented to members on the basis that they are subject to auditor's adjustments which include the taking-up of depreciation, GST adjustments, etc.

The Treasurer mentioned a net loss result of \$10,744.26 and that there has been stability in membership retention and that is vital to maintaining a balanced budget, however, event income was reduced due to COVID. SQ has continued to provide value to members through a regular webinar program and there has been no charge to participate in those webinars over recent months. The expenses are around \$60,000 per year and the committee are looking at initiatives to reduce costs and focus on the necessary items of service to ensure continuity and that provide value to members.



The committee is also taking with other Associations about collaborative activities to pool resources/save costs etc. The S Nat levies are a cost and SQ has advised S Nat that it will hold any payment of levies post the March 2020 quarter. SQ has sufficient funds to see it through the COVID period and does not expect any face-to-face conferences or events until next year and have reviewed the budget and are balancing it on that expectation. The Treasurer thanked all for their efforts in assisting to reduce expenses, in maintaining value to members through the webinar program, to members for maintaining their membership during this period and to S Nat for their co-operation.

A question was asked around the \$10,000 consultancy fees. That was for the assistance with social media and content and it was believed that that line item has since been re-named accordingly.

That Stormwater Queensland's end of year reports to 30 June 2020 be received and accepted and that they are subject to auditor's adjustments which include the taking-up of depreciation, GST adjustments etc.

Moved C Coathup, seconded P Worth. Carried unanimously.

6. <u>ELECTION OF 2021 EXECUTIVE AND MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE</u>

Under the Rules of the Association, there is a requirement to have an election for the Management Committee positions each year. A formal election process was carried-out. Nominations for positions on the 2020-2021 Management Committee have been received as follows.

First Name	Surname	Organisation	Position Nominated	Nominated By
David	Simpson	Brisbane City	Secretary	Peter Worth & Charles
		Council		Coathup
Charles	Coathup	Renew Solutions	Treasurer	Brad Dalrymple &
				Peter Worth
Leon	Attwood	SPEL	Committee Member	Clint Mead & Troy
				Mansinger
Brad	Dalrymple	Ocean Protect	Committee Member	Charles Coathup &
				Peter Worth
Rick	Dennis	Allan & Dennis	Committee Member	Daniel Niven & Peter
				Worth
Paul	Dubowski	BMT	Committee Member	Courtney Henderson &
				David Simpson
Randall	Hall	Holcim	Committee Member	Charles Coathup &
				Charles Kelly
Courtney	Henderson	AECOM	Committee Member	Dylan Cain & Sally
				Boer
Bill	Johnson	Strategic	Committee Member	David Simpson & Peter
		Environmental &		Worth
		Engineering		
		Consulting		
Clint	Mead	SPEL	Committee Member	Troy Mansinger &
				Leon Attwood
Himanthi	Mendis	Bligh Tanner	Committee Member	Mark Gibson & Darren
				Drapper

The Secretariat confirmed that all nominees are financial, with the condition that SQ does not maintain/manage the Sustaining Members.

There was no requirement to elect a President, as the current President, Peter Worth, will serve the second year of his two year term of office.



No nominations were received for the position of Vice President and the Chair called for nominations from the floor. In response to a question, the comment was made that the role is to support and stand-in for the President when required. No nominations were received.

Moved P Worth, seconded T Mansinger, that the above-mentioned members be elected to the Stormwater Queensland Management Committee for the 2020-2021 year. Carried unanimously.

The Chair welcomed the new Management Committee and wished them success and satisfaction in their involvement with Stormwater Queensland. The Chair thanked the outgoing committee members for their time, effort and contribution to the organisation – Dylan Cain, Sharon Fong and Dan Niven.

7. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR THE 2020-2021 YEAR

E H Tan & Co, Chartered Accountants, have signified their willingness to continue as the Association's auditor for the coming year.

That E H Tan & Co be appointed as Stormwater Queensland's auditor for the 2020-2021 year. Moved D Simpson, seconded C Coathup. Carried unanimously.

8. <u>CLOSE</u>

There being no further business, the Chair thanked members for their interest and support in the Association and closed the meeting at 12.57pm.

..... Confirmed – President, Stormwater Queensland Date