Stormwater Queensland Committee 2022-2023

Mark. R. Gibson
Brisbane City Council
Mark R. Gibson is a Principal Engineer for the Water Management Unit at Brisbance City Council.
Vice President Vacant

David Simpson
Brisbane City Council

David is a Senior Civil and Environmental Engineer with Brisbane City Council. He has qualifications and extensive experience in Civil Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Business Administration and Project Management and is an RPEQ. He has 48 years of experience with both Council and consultants, including investigation, planning, design, construction and project management of development projects. His areas of expertise include creek stabilisation, integrated water cycle management, water sensitive urban design, stormwater drainage, overland flow, flood modelling, stormwater harvesting, water quality, water supply, sewerage, water treatment, wastewater treatment, industrial wastewater treatment, hydraulic services, subdivisions, hydro-electric schemes and expert witness services.

Charles Coathup
Renew Solutions

Charles is the co-founder and Managing Director of Renew Solutions, and lives and breathes stormwater asset management.  Within his career he has undertaken many and various types of auditing and assessment activities on stormwater quality improvement devices, including the design and installation of new devices, and the assessment of rectification options for existing devices.  Collectively, Charles has over 15 years experience in the stormwater management space, including 12 years as the National Business Development Manager for Ecosol Pty Ltd, an internationally recognised stormwater proprietor.

Leon Attwood

Leon has been associated with the Stormwater proprietor ‘SPEL Stormwater’ since the culmination of 2013 and his mission is to assist SPEL in its efforts to improving stormwater & wastewater quality and compliance standards throughout Asia Pacific. Leon is currently the QLD Team Leader and has had over 8 years’ experience in the Water Sensitive Urban Design (WSUD) industry with extensive experience and technical knowledge on the functionalities of proprietary and green stormwater assets. He has spent extensive time monitoring and maintaining stormwater assets in several locations over South-East Queensland and has also assisted in designs and installations for hundreds of SQUIDs for new developments through Queensland. Above all, he has an overall grasp on the intricacies of the stormwater industry and is keen to be involved in the development and progress of future initiatives.

Brad Dalrymple
Ocean Protect

Brad is a Principal Environmental Engineer at Ocean Protect with over 19 years experience and industry accreditations (RPEQ, NPER and CPEng).  At Ocean Protect, Brad’s role is to support the development and implementation of stormwater treatment technologies, asset management initiatives and community education programs aimed at helping to protect marine and waterway health. He is also a lecturer at Griffith University where, for the past 12 years, he has been responsible for part of the environmental hydrology and hydraulics subject.  Brad will continue to assist with events and advocacy activities for Stormwater Queensland.

Hannah Murphy

Hannah is a graduate engineer in Arup’s Cairns office, working in Transport and Resources.
She joined Arup in 2017, after finishing a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) at the University of Wollongong in 2017. She has previously worked as a Student Engineer for a local council (traffic and transport department). In this role, she worked on the maintenance and delivery of local road projects gaining valuable experience in data analysis, traffic engineering and working with the community.
Hannah has keen interest in Continued Professional Development (CPD) and is passionate about sustainable engineering solutions. She is an active graduate member of Engineers Australia and a member of Engineers Without Borders.

Paul Dubowski

Paul is a senior environmental scientist with BMT specialising in stormwater, creeks and catchment management. He has 17 years of experience including 10 years in consulting, 2 years with Water by Design and 5 years in local government. In addition, Paul has volunteered on the Stormwater Queensland Committee for the past 7 years and is the chair of the Advocacy and Engagement Sub-Committee.

Courtney Henderson

Dr Courtney Henderson is a Water Sensitive Urban Design specialist with 7 years of academic experience (PhD in stormwater bioretention systems), and 13 years in consulting. He has skills in vegetation ecology, soil science, water chemistry, and urban hydrology. His training as a scientist complements the predominantly engineering-design focus of the industry. His work experience in industrial sites and transport infrastructure also complements the urban development focus of the group.
Bill Johnson
Environmental & Engineering Consulting
Bill is a civil engineer with Strategic Environmental and Engineering Consulting (SEEC) based in Brisbane. He has 30 years experience in the water engineering and infrastructure fields working in local government, large and small consultancies where he has gained skills in stormwater management, drainage, water resources, water quality, Water Sensitive Urban Design, flood modelling and erosion and sediment control. Bill is a Registered Engineer of Queensland (RPEQ) and a Certified Professional in Erosion and Sediment Control (CPESC) and has a particular interest in WSUD, water quality and erosion. He has been a member of Stormwater Queensland for almost 20 years and has served on the committee in a variety of roles. He is currently on the membership and advocacy sub-committee. Away from work you will find him supporting the Bulldogs, coaching kids’ cricket, fishing, and spending time with family.

Himanthi Mendis
Mott MacDonald

In 2018, Himanthi completed a Bachelor of Civil and Environmental Engineering with First Class Honours from the Queensland University of Technology.

Since joining Bligh Tanner, Himanthi has found a passion for integrated water management and water sensitive urban design. She is gaining experience in the detailed design of water and sewerage networks. She has been involved in hydrologic and hydraulic modelling for urban and rural catchments and has provided several stormwater management plans for various developments including residential, educational and commercial.
She strives to challenge industry standards in order to innovate and create great cities for people to live in. In this way, she hopes to improve the sustainability of the built environment. A highlight of her career so far has been the Western Parkland City: Urban Typologies and Stormwater Solutions project.